Firefighter or Empire Builder?

Screenshot 2016-02-29 10.20.38

What does your ‘to do’ list look like?

Are you spending your day ‘putting out fires’ or is it filled with ‘needle-moving’ activities? This is an eye opening question for me, as my days consist of anything from making sure that traffic ticket gets paid (oops!) or getting 2 loads of laundry done, to creating a new training for my team or preparing for an important meeting.

They are all necessary activities, but only the latter are going to help me grow professionally and make an impact.   The key is to making the conscious effort to block out my time.  I am a constant work in progress with this.

Finding the balance as a work at home mom of 3 young boys building her empire (or a ‘mompreneur’ as I like to call myself) 🙂 requires daily effort.

The chaos of piles of laundry and paperwork clutter my head and render it nearly impossible to focus on any deep, productive work.

BUT, I have a deep, clear understanding of my ‘WHY’ that drives me to push through the chaos and get shiz done.  There is NEVER a ‘good’ time, but I MAKE the time.

I’ve realized I need to hire an assistant in order to really get ahead.   I heard a quote once that hit me in the gut:  “If you don’t have an assistant, you ARE one.”

I don’t have time to be the assistant!

By the end of the day, if you’ve put out more fires than done any real work towards your mission, the day has run you.

Who wants to get to the end of their day feeling good about the progress you’ve made on the important areas of your life?  (Hand raised!)

Here’s my plan of attack.  Feel free to follow along with me.

  1.  Create my ‘to do’ list the night before.  I will begin to implement the ‘1-Page Productivity Sheet’ from the High Performance Academy I attending over the weekend.
  2. Schedule the blocks in my day where I will focus and commit to each task, so that I can be fully present with my kids in the afternoon/evening.
  3. Begin to look for an assistant to help me with the smaller tasks that are necessary, but that don’t contribute to my big picture.
  4. And finally, to gauge my progress on my big activities, I will end each day with three simple questions:  “Did I live?  Did I love?  Did I matter?”

xoxox,

Shelly

Leave a Reply

