Painkillers, Antidepressants and Vodka Tonics…In that order

That was my daily reality just 2 years ago.  I’m getting raw and more vulnerable than I want to, but I KNOW there are others who are where I was that can hopefully benefit from this.
Last week I hurt my back and ended up with a pinched nerve.  I’ve been taking a painkiller just to bring the pain down from a 9 to a functional 5.  I really didn’t want to have to use them.  Taking these painkillers for the past couple days really got me thinking about where my life was back then.  And looking back, I didn’t think much of it at the time.  It was just how I functioned.  Now, don’t get me wrong;  I wasn’t a closet junkie or alcoholic.  Just a stressed out mom with debilitating back pain who liked to have a drink or two (sometimes 3) at night to relax.  I went to work, I fed my kids, I paid the bills, I did the minimum to get by.  I was a ‘mombie’.  On autopilot.  Stagnant.  I was medicated.  To feel better.
In Dec. 2012, a funny thing happened.  I got pregnant with Max, baby #4, and had to quit all that, COLD TURKEY.  The thought and smell of coffee made me sick, too, so here I was, withdrawing from caffeine, alcohol, painkillers and antidepressants all at once.  Recipe for disaster, right?
Well, guess what…
I was on cloud 9.
Besides the typical first trimester lethargy and fatigue, it was as if pregnancy cured all my issues.  My back pain all but disappeared.  I wasn’t waking up in a fog from having drank the night before.  I don’t know if it was the pregnancy hormones or my giddy anticipation of new life inside me, but my outlook on life was definitely looking up.
At 8 months pregnant, I found myself sitting on the couch, looking eye to eye with my husband, having a serious conversation about finances.  With baby #4 on the way, I knew I wasn’t going to be returning to work at our studio in the same capacity (if at all).  I had to do something to replace that income.  It was then that I decided I would add ‘Beachbody Coach’ to my resume.  I had built my career in the fitness industry over the past 15 year and wasn’t ready to let that go.  This was a way that I could hold onto my passion and continue to work from home, on my own terms.
Being a coach meant that I would get started on a fitness program right away post-partum.  I would have to stay accountable to my own fitness and nutrition in order to be the best possible role model to my clients.
It meant that I would receive a discount on all my favorite products and programs.
It meant that I could qualify to receive cool prizes and trips.

None of that stuff turned out to be the biggest part of what being a coach has meant to my life.

When I started coaching at 8 months pregnant, I had no idea how the trajectory of my life would change.  I thought I might make a little money and help a few people.
You see, I’ve had 4 babies, and I’ve had 4 bouts of postpartum depression.  I have no reason to believe that my pregnancy with Max would’ve been any different.
I think I’m lazy by nature.  Really.  I don’t like (or didn’t like) structure, rules, discipline.
But I loved the idea of being my own boss.  Calling the shots.  Determining my own future.  So I went for it.
I sit here today, 18 months later, giving full credit to Beachbody as a company and my team, Team Rockstar Fit with changing my life.  That’s right—changing my life.  I don’t say that lightly.  If you’ve had kids, you understand how lonely those first few weeks and months after childbirth can be.  We live in our pajamas, covered in spit up, sleep deprived, no recollection of our last shower, carrying the pregnancy weight, isolated from the outside world;  and if you have other kids, you’re trying to keep them alive, too!  I so very easily could’ve slipped back into my depression.  Instead, the weeks and months after Max was born, I fully immersed myself in the culture of Beachbody, jumped 100% into the trainings, mentorship, masterminds, and leadership available to me.
One of Beachbody’s ‘3 Vital Behaviors’ is personal development.  It is instilled in us that by becoming better people ourselves, we are better able to help others.  And helping others is the name of the game in this business!  I picked up a book that for once in my life wasn’t to escape from my reality, but to embrace it, improve it and better myself and future.  I latched onto people who have so much more education, knowledge, and experience than me who wanted to teach me everything they knew.  People who had paid big bucks to attend workshops, conventions and belong to mastermind groups just to bring that knowledge back to us.  I made hundreds of new friends across the country;  moms just like me who were working to stay home with their kids, who wanted to help lessen the financial burden on their husbands.  I enrolled in FREE trainings worth tens of thousands of dollars that my mentors designed to not just help coaches grow their Beachbody business, but design a LIFE they loved.  Lessons in leadership, time management, self discipline, failing, courage, shutting the door on the past.   Not ONE lesson in SALES or closing a deal.  I’ve learned more about love and acceptance and compassion and service, and all of that happens to translate into growing a thriving business. My newsfeed is now filled with positivity, support, encouragement and excitement about life.  I am my own boss, but never alone.
But most importantly, I have learned that it all starts with ME.  My outlook.  My philosophy.  I’ll relate it to a gardening metaphor (since I’m researching growing my first garden this spring).  If you start with crummy soil, you will have a heck of a time producing anything worthwhile.  But when you cultivate and fertilize your soil, you will reap a lush, bountiful harvest.   By growing and investing in myself, I am better equipped to help so many others.
As a result, financially we have been beyond blessed.  My income alone pays our mortgage, car payment, utilities, groceries, and surprise trips for the kids (like Great Wolf Lodge earlier this month) 🙂  It’s crazy to me to that this is possible by just doing what I love to do a few hours a day around my kids’ schedule.
If you are looking for something…a change, a new direction, a new purpose in life;  if you love fitness and want to inspire and influence others, reach out to me.  You don’t have to become pregnant to change the trajectory of your life!  Consider joining my team.  This is about so much more than a fitness program.  Being in the best shape of my life (both physically and emotionally) just happens to be a side effect of making the decision to become a coach.  I know, without a doubt that your life can be blessed just as mine has.  And I want to show you the way as your mentor.
(For more information about the Beachbody Coaching Opportunity, fill out this short form and I will get back with you right away!)
Leave a Reply

